Benfica is the most represented club in the elected to the ‘All-Star Game’

Benfica is the most represented club in the squad for the 2019 All-Star Game, with seven players elected, according to the list released by the Portuguese Basketball Federation (FPB).

Arnette Hallman, Fábio Lima, Micah Downs, Miguel Cardoso and Tomás Barroso on the men’s side, as well as Mariana Silva and Quanetria Bolton on the women’s side, are the incarnated athletes designated to compete for the South in the next edition of the Games. Stars, which takes place on April 13, in the Algarve city of Albufeira.

Oliveirense, the national men’s basketball champion, is the second most represented emblem, with calls from James Ellisor, João Guerreiro and Travante Williams, as well as Porto’s third-placed FC Porto, who loan ‘Miguel Queiroz, Sasa Borovnjak and Will Sheehey to the male ensemble of the North.

In the women’s sector, Olivais Coimbra’s northern and the southern of Quinta dos Lombos and GDESSA Barreiro dominate the call, with each club giving away three athletes.

The choice was made by the coaches and captains of the 24 teams of the men’s and women’s leagues, starting today and until next 10, a vote open to the public to choose the initial ‘fives’, through the official website and of the FPB account on the social network Twitter.

The men’s teams will be led by Norberto Alves (Oliveirense) and Iñaki Martin (Lusitânia), while the women’s teams will have coaches Eugénio Rodrigues (Olivais Coimbra) and José Leite (Quinta dos Lombos).

The ‘All-Star Game’ is part of the 12th edition of the Youth Basketball Festival, which will run for the fourth consecutive season at the Albufeira Sports Pavilion in the district of Faro, counting in parallel with the slam dunk competitions and triple releases.

Last season, the men’s All-Star Game was defeated by the South (106-103), countering their opponents’ supremacy in previous editions (87-85 in 2015/16 and 97-90 in 2016/17). with the American base Isaiah Johnson (who represented the Third Basket) to be elected MVP.

The identical destination had the female side, in which the selection of the South beat the congener of the North (73-69), especially the display of the Brazilian pole Letícia Rodrigues (União Sportiva).

As for the individual contests, Portuguese basketball players José Silva (Benfica) and Sara Sjassi (União Sportiva) won the triples, while American Jeffrey Early (then serving Illiabum) triumphed in the dunk competition.

The first edition of the All-Star Game took place in the 1990/91 season in the Azorean city of Horta, and for six consecutive seasons, between 2010 and 2016, the event was suspended by federal decision.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!