Birds Are Indie mark edition of “Migrations – The Travel Diaries # 1” with video

Birds Are Indie mark this 10th anniversary with the release of Migrations – The travel diaries # 1. This will be the first of two separate volumes, # 1 on CD (with edition on 17 April) and # 2 on vinyl (this to be published in 2021).

Both formats will feature a revisit of 5 songs from their previous discography, reinterpreted and re-recorded. But as the music seems to emerge naturally, there will also be room for another 10 new tracks, 5 of them on the CD and the other 5 on vinyl.

With mixing and mastering by João Rui – who at the Blue House studio in Conimbricense worked on albums from bands such as Jigsaw, From Atomic, Raquel Ralha & Pedro Renato and Wipeout Beat – all tracks had their participation on bass and some guest keys special Jorri (a Jigsaw), who also collaborated in the recording. Leading this process, as usual, was in charge of a member of the band, Henrique Toscano, and the same happened with the artwork and design, made by the hand of Joana Corker.

@Bruno Pires


The musical geography of this trio of Coimbra is well known and striking: its nest was built in the shape of a bedroom pop, with folk in the middle, in a minimalist DIY stance, typical of the first flights, as happened with Belle and Sebastian, Yo La Tengo , Moldy Peaches or Juan Wauters. Over time, the wings of their pop grew and came closer to rock that was taught by names like Lou Reed, Dean Wareham, Black Francis and Stephen Malkmus.

Over these 10 years of history (s), Birds Are Indie have accumulated several trips, some physical and others sonorous. If they have often ventured into discovery, at others they have preferred to return to their starting point. With difficulty in being in the same place for a long time, they migrated between comfort and detachment, crossing well-known latitudes and somewhat forgotten meridians. And all of this seems to have a new and strange meaning, in the current context we live in, of social isolation, life on hold and urgency in adapting to a new reality.

In Migrations the idea of ​​going and returning is very present, either because the disc wanders between different periods in the musical and personal life of Ricardo Jerónimo, Joana Corker and Henrique Toscano, or because the motto for the lyrics that compose it is its own restlessness , sometimes helpless, now defiant. Basically, who lives between here and there, prefers to be beyond, as the mastery of Variations so well summarized. And so, between beginnings and (a) ends, 10 years later, another journey begins.

@Francisca Moreira


With this release there is also a 2nd video clip of a track on the disc. This was one of those chosen to be re-recorded, with new arrangements, which is now part of Migrations – The travel diaries.

Interestingly, the lyrics of this theme are like a game, in which the voices of Joana Corker and Ricardo Jerónimo imagine themselves in the distant future, looking back, when they were “younger”, and being happy to have decided to do things other than stand in front of the television. Television is a metaphor, of course, because they also like to see snooker, movies and “Crime, she said” there. So, this is the perfect song to be the soundtrack of the memories that 10 years contain.

In a period when limitations are many and when remembering good memories can give us encouragement to look to the future, this video clip is a kind of family album, leafed to the rhythm of a song. It couldn’t be simpler. But, for 10 years, Birds Are Indie have used us to make simplicity full of meaning (s).


  • SEP 11th / Xiria Pop Festival, Carballo
  • SEP 25th / Cerca de São Bernardo Theater, Coimbra
  • OCT 7th / Costello, Madrid
  • OCT 8th / Asklepios, Valladolid
  • OCT 9th / Sala Creedence, Zaragoza
  • OCT 10th / Llimac Elèctric, Lleida
  • OCT 16th / Avenida, Aveiro
  • DEC 4th / Casa da Música, Porto…
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!