Bom Petisco Peniche Pro decides national title from 28 to 30 October

MEO Surf League

Bom Petisco Peniche Pro, the fifth and final stage of the MEO Surf 2022 League, the first division of national surfing, undergoes a programming adjustment again, returning to the original weekend, from October 28th to 30th, by impositions of the international sports calendar.

The stage that will decide the men’s national title was initially scheduled for this October weekend, but the date was changed to November due to World Surf League competition calendar constraints, which, however, also underwent changes, forcing new changes in the 2022 MEO Surf League.

Bom Petisco Peniche Pro

Francisco Rodrigues, president of the National Surfers Association
It almost looks like we’ve been doing a lot of sight navigation here. But it’s exactly the opposite. Initially, we saw the WQS of Ribeira Grande, in the Azores, is scheduled for our date. Then we had to adjust to other commitments at the national level. Now, we’re back to facing a calendar conflict from a new WQS scheduling very recently in the Canaries. In the meantime, the Ribeira Grande WQS has also been adjusted, allowing us to return to our original date at the end of October. For the sake of a balanced sports calendar for the best Portuguese surfers, we have to react, for which we ask and appreciate the understanding of everyone involved.

Guilherme Ribeiro ©Jorge Matreno – ANSurfistas

Thus, Capital da Onda is preparing to receive the main national surfers in October, where, once again and for the second consecutive year, the MEO Surf League will decide a national title, in particular, the maximum title of Portuguese Surfing in men. A dispute with 12 surfers in play: Guilherme Ribeiro, Guilherme Fonseca, Eduardo Fernandes, Tomás Fernandes, João Moreira, Vasco Ribeiro, Afonso Antunes, Francisco Almeida, Joaquim Chaves, Francisco Mittermayer, Luís Perloiro and Frederico Morais.

The women’s national title was already won in advance by Teresa Bonvalot, at the Allianz Ribeira Grande Pro, last June.

Praia de Supertubos ©Jorge Matreno – ANSurfistas

History of national champions in the last 5 years:
2022 – Teresa Bonvalot (champion by anticipation)
2021 – Kika Veselko and Vasco Ribeiro
2020 – Teresa Bonvalot and Frederico Morais
2019 – Yolanda Hopkins and Miguel Blanco
2018 – Camilla Kemp and Miguel Blanco
2017 – Carolina Mendes and Vasco Ribeiro

Gallery of National Men’s Champions:
Vasco Ribeiro – 5 titles (2011, 2012, 2014, 2017, 2021)
Ruben Gonzalez – 4 titles (2004, 2005, 2006, and 2008)
Frederico Morais – 3 titles (2013, 2015 and 2020)
José Gregório – 3 titles (1997, 2003 and 2007)
João Antunes – 3 titles (1994, 1996 and 1998)
Miguel Blanco – 2 titles (2018 and 2019)
Justin Mujica – 2 titles (1999 and 2010)
Surfers with 1 national title: Bruno Charneca, Almir Salazar, Rodrigo Herédia, Marcos Anastácio, Paulo Rodrigues, Gustavo Gouveia, Tiago Pires, João Guedes and Pedro Henrique

The MEO Surf League 2022 is an organization of the National Association of Surfers and Fire!, sponsored by MEO, Bom Petisco, Allianz Seguros, Joaquim Chaves Saúde, Go Chill, Somersby, Corona and Rip Curl, sustainability partner Jerónimo Martins, the local support of the Municipality of Peniche, and the technical support of the Península de Peniche Surf Club and the Portuguese Surfing Federation.

+ info

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, and TikTok and see the exclusive content for social networks.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!