Camille Saint-Saëns and Igor Stravinsky

CCB - Grande Auditório

This post is also available in: Português (Portuguese (Portugal))

Camille Saint-Saëns and Igor Stravinsky
Portuguese Chamber Orchestra
Direction Pedro Carneiro
Piano Raúl da Costa
Assistant Conductor Henrique Constance

CCB. 21 November . Sunday. 5:00 pm. Grand Auditorium

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
Dumbarton Oaks Chamber Concert (1939)
Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2 (1868)

Igor Stravinsky
Concertante Dances for Chamber Orchestra (1942)

2021 marks the 100th anniversary of the death of Camille Saint-Saëns and the 50th of Igor Stravinsky, two of the most important musical events of the year.

This concert is thus a tribute to these two composers, having chosen works that not only reveal the genius and inspiration of both, but also allow to show in each of the works the excellence of the work of the Portuguese Chamber Orchestra (OCP). With the works of Igor Stravinsky, each member of the orchestra becomes himself a soloist in the best spirit of the concertante tradition applied to the collective that is the orchestra. The Piano Concerto No. 2 by Camille Saint-Saëns reveals to us one of the most beautiful pages written for piano and orchestra in French Romanticism, in this concert with pianist Raúl da Costa joining the OCP.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube and TikTok and see the exclusive content for social networks.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!