Captain Fausto and Slow J lead nominations for Portuguese Music awards

Those nominated for the 2nd edition of Play were announced today at a press conference at Coliseu dos Recreios, in Lisbon, a space that will once again host the award ceremony, which will be shown live on RTP.

Captain Fausto and Slow J bring together three nominations each. The band led by Tomás Wallenstein is nominated in the categories Best Group, Best Album, with “A Invenção do Dia Claro”, and Song of the Year, with “Amor, a vida”.

Slow J competes in the categories of Best Male Artist, Best Album, with “You Are Forgiven”, and Song of the Year, with “Also Dream”.

For Best Group, in addition to Captain Fausto, they are also named Expensive Soul, Mão Morta and The Gift. In the Best Male Artist category, Diogo Piçarra, Fernando Daniel and Salvador Sobral also compete in Slow J.

Best Male Artist is one of four new categories created this year. To this are added Best Female Artist, Best Jazz Album and Best Classical / Classical Album. In addition, two categories were deleted: Best International Artist and Best International Song.

For Best Album, in addition to the works of Slow J and Capitão Fausto, they are also nominated “Aqui é se serene”, by Camané and Mário Laginha, who also competes in the Best Fado Album category, and “#FFFFFF”, by ProfJam.

In the Song of the Year category, they also compete, in addition to the themes of Captain Fausto and Slow J, “Bairro”, by Wet Bed Gang, and “Bússola”, by Nenny.

Nenny is also nominated for the Revelation Artist Award, along with Bárbara Tinoco, Murta and Tiago Nacarato. For Best Female Artist are named Aldina Duarte, Ana Bacalhau, Blaya and Lena D’Água. Aldina Duarte also competes in the Best Fado Album category, with “Roubados”. In this category, in addition to Aldina Duarte and Camané with Mário Laginha, Ricardo Ribeiro is nominated, with “Respectful Mind”, and Pedro Moutinho, with “Um Fado ao Contrário”.

The Lusofonia Prize only competes for Brazilian artists: Giulia Be (with “Menina Solta”), Tainá (“Sonhos”), Silva & Ludmilla (“Um Pôr do Sol na Praia”) and Anitta & Kevinho (“Terremoto”).

Today, the nominees in the categories of Best Classical / Classical Music Album and Best Jazz Album remain to be announced.

The winners of most categories will be chosen by juries composed of figures from the middle of Portuguese music.

The Play of Best Song is attributed by the public and the career and critical prizes will not be nominated, being chosen by elements of Audiogest, cooperative GDA – Management of Artists’ Rights and PassMúsica Association, and by music critics, respectively.

The Play delivery ceremony is scheduled for 21:00 on March 25 and will be broadcast live on RTP1, RTP Internacional, RTP Africa and RTP Play (‘online’).

Like last year, the ceremony will be presented by Filomena Cautela and Inês Lopes Gonçalves and will feature several musical performances.

Play is an initiative of the association PassMúsica, which represents artists, bands and record labels, in partnership with RTP and Vodafone, and aims to reward “the best music consumed in Portugal”, as stated by Paulo Carvalho, one of the responsible for the awards, in a presentation to journalists in March last year.

In the 1st edition, whose winners were known in April last year, the singer Dino D’Santiago was the most awarded. Dino D’Santiago three times on stage at Coliseu de Lisboa, to receive the awards for Best Solo Artist, Best Album (“Mundo Nôbu”) and Critics Award.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!