Carrilho da Graça wins architecture award Leon Battista Alberti

The Portuguese architect João Luís Carrilho da Graça is the winner of the first edition of the Italian architectural prize Leon Battista Alberti, in a unanimous choice, the organization announced today.

Founded by the Leon Foundation – Battista Alberti Studies Center and the Municipality of Mantua, in collaboration with the Pole of Mantua of the Faculty of Architecture, Urbanism, Engineering and Construction of the Polytechnic of Milan, the prize, named after the Italian humanist architect of the century XV, aims to distinguish every year “an internationally renowned architect whose work testifies to the role of contemporary architecture in the promotion of historical heritage,” reads the prize page on the Internet.

“In the first edition of the award, the jury, composed of representatives of the School of Architecture of the Polytechnic of Milan, the Alberti Foundation and the city of Mantua, unanimously nominated the Portuguese master João Luís Carrilho da Graça as the winner. establish a dialogue of high value between the old and the new, “in architecture.

The Leon Foundation highlights the fact that Carrilho da Graça gave classes under the UNESCO Chair program launched in 2011 at the campus of Mantova do Politécnico in Milan.

Born in Portalegre 65 years ago, Carrilho da Graça, Pessoa Award in 2008, he is the author, among other projects, of the Lisbon Cruise Terminal, the Pavilion of Knowledge – Ciência Viva, the Superior School of Social Communication, the archaeological museum of Praça Nova do Castelo de São Jorge and the School of Music of the Polytechnic School in the Portuguese capital.

Carrilho da Graça was a professor at the Faculty of Architecture of the then Technical University of Lisbon, from 1977 to 1992, a professor at the Autonomous University, from 2001 to 2003. He was a graduate of the Lisbon School of Fine Arts in 1977. 2010, and the University of Évora, since 2005, where he headed the Department of Architecture.

He was nominated several times for the European Architecture Prize Mies van der Rohe (1990, 1992, 1994, 1996, 2009, 2011, 2013), distinguished with the Valmor Prize by the Pavilion of Knowledge of the Seas (1998) and the Music of Lisbon (2008).

His work included awards such as the International Association of Art Critics (AICA), the Order of Merit of the Portuguese Republic (1999), the Knight of Arts and Letters of the French Republic (2010) ) and the Medal of the Academy of Architecture of France (2012).

Carrilho da Graça will be honoured at the architecture meeting, parallel to the Guadalajara Book Fair in Mexico, which runs from November 24 to December 2, with Portugal as a guest country.

He is also among the candidates for the European Mies van der Rohe 2019 award for the Lisbon Cruise Terminal.

The Leon Battista Alberti Prize will be presented to Carrilho da Graça next Wednesday, November 14 at the Bibiena Theater in Mantua, where the Portuguese architect will give a “master lecture” (lectio magistralis), presented by the Rector of the School of Architecture of the Polytechnic of Milan.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!