CR7 is the only Portuguese player to be eligible for UEFA ‘eleven’ of the year

France puts ten representatives on the list that goes to votes.

UEFA announced on Monday the 50 candidates to appear in the ‘eleven’ of 2018, which will be elected by the internauts, through a vote carried out on the official website of the body governing European football.

Cristiano Ronaldo, who has traded Real Madrid for Juventus for € 100 million, is the only representative of Portuguese football in this extensive list, which has a total of nine Merengues players.

The world champion France is the team with the highest number of players – ten – and the Spanish league that is better represented all over the Old Continent – 22, eight more than the Premier League.

Here are the candidates for UEFA ‘eleven’ of the year:

Goalkeeper: Alisson Becker (Liverpool / Brazil), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham / France), Keylor Navas (Real Madrid / Costa Rica), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid / Slovenia) and Marc-André Ter Stegen (Barcelona / Germany);

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona / Spain), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus / Italy), Giménez (Atletico Madrid / Uruguay), Diego Godín (Atletico Madrid / Uruguay), Lucas Hernández Bayern Munich / Germany), Kalidou Koulibaly (Naples / Senegal), Kostas Manolas (AS Roma / Greece), Marcelo (Real Madrid / Brazil), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona / Spain), Sergio Ramos (Manchester City / England), Samuel Umtiti (Barcelona / France), Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool / Netherlands) and Raphael Varane (Real Madrid / France).

Midfielders: Casemiro (Real Madrid / Brazil), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City / Belgium), Eden Hazard (Chelsea / Belgium), Isco (Real Madrid / Spain), N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea / France), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid / Germany), James Milner (Liverpool / England), Luka Modric (Real Madrid / Croatia), Saúl Ñíguez (Atletico Madrid / Spain), Dmitri Payet (Marseille / France), Miralem Pjanic (Juventus / Bosnia), Paul Pogba (Manchester United / France), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona / Croatia), David Silva (Manchester City / Spain) and Florian Thauvin (Marseille / France).

Forwards: Gareth Bale (Real Madrid / Wales), Edinson Cavani (PSG / Uruguay), Paulo Dybala (Juventus / Argentina), Edin Dzeko (AS Roma / Bosnia), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool / Brazil), Antoine Griezmann (Athletic Madrid / France), Harry Kane (Tottenham / England), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich / Poland), Sadio Mané (Liverpool / Senegal), Kylian Mbappé (PSG / France), Lionel Messi (Barcelona / Argentina), Neymar (PSG / Brazil), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus / Portugal), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool / Egypt) and Luis Suarez (Barcelona / Uruguay).

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!