Cristiano Ronaldo among the nominees for the FIFA Best Player Award

The Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo is included in the list of 10 nominees for the prize ‘The Best’, through which FIFA distinguishes the best soccer player of the 2017/2018 season and the forward has already won five times.

In addition to being the only Portuguese player on the roster, who has been voted the best player in the world in 2008, 2013, 2015, 2016 and 2016/2017, there is the presence of five-times world champion Lionel Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2014).

The Portuguese player, who at the age of 33 moved to Real Madrid this month for € 100 million, won last season the Champions League, the European Super Cup, the World Cup and the Spanish Super Cup, having scored 44 goals in 44 games for the Spanish club.

Messi, 31, advanced from rival FC Barcelona, won Spanish championship and won the Spanish King’s Cup, having also won the European Golden Boot with 34 goals scored in the Spanish League, out of a total of 45 – in all competitions – in 54 games.

Also on the roster are forward Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid) and Kylian Mbappé (Paris-Saint-Germain), key players in France’s 2018 World Cup victory, and midfielder Luka Modric (Real Madrid) World, having helped Croatia reach the final.

Among the nominees, selected by a “panel of football experts”, for the performance between July 3, 2017 and July 15, 2018 are also Belgians Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City) and Eden Hazard (Chelsea), English Harry Kane (Tottenham), the top scorer of the World Cup, Egypt’s Mohamed Salah (Liverpool) and Frenchman Raphaël Varane (Real Madrid).

In all, all the nominees line up in clubs in Europe and only two – Messi and Salah – do not represent European teams, great dominators of the Championship of the World realized in Russia, whose semi-finals were disputed by four countries of this continent. The Brazilian Neymar is one of the great absentees.

France, with three footballers, are mostly on the FIFA list, followed by Belgium with two, while Real Madrid are the most represented club, also with three – among which Cristiano Ronaldo – while all other teams have only a player among the possible elect.

In the 10 nominations for the best coach of the season are Massimiliano Allegri (Juventus), Stanislav Cherchesov (Russia), Zlatko Dalic (Croatia), Didier Deschamps (France), Pep Guardiola (Manchester City), Jürgen Klopp Martinez (Belgium), Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid), Gareth Southgate (England), Ernesto Valverde (FC Barcelona) and Zinédine Zidane (Real Madrid).

In contrast to the men’s section, the women’s team is guaranteed a new winner, as Dutchwoman Lieke Martens, who was voted the best player in the world last season, is not part of the list of nominees, such as the American Carli Lloyd, winner in 2015 and 2016.

Voting for the awards of best footballers and coaches from the 2017/2018 season runs from July 24 to August 10, with the awards ceremony scheduled for September 24 in London.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!