Francisco José Viegas wins Fernando Namora Literary Prize

The Fernando Namora Literary Prize, with a monetary value of 15 thousand euros, annually distinguishes the author of the best work of fiction, novel or novel, published in the previous year.

In its 23rd edition, the jury, chaired by Guilherme d’Oliveira Martins, chose ‘A Luz de Beijing’, considering it to be a work that interrogates time and what we do with it and a novel of evaluating past experiences and current uncertainties.

Instituted by Estoril-Sol in 1988 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of Fernando Namora’s literary life, this award has already been awarded to João de Melo, Maria Isabel Barreno, Urbano Tavares Rodrigues, Mário de Carvalho (two editions), Manuel Alegre, Teolinda Gersão, Armando Silva Carvalho, António Lobo Antunes, Nuno Júdice, Miguel Real, Mário Cláudio, Luísa Costa Gomes, Gonçalo M. Tavares, Paulo Castilho, José Eduardo Agualusa, Bruno Vieira Amaral, Afonso Cruz, Ana Cristina Silva, Carlos Vale Ferraz and Julieta Monginho.

The jury included representatives from the General Directorate of Books, Archives and Libraries (DGLAB), the Portuguese Association of Literary Critics (APCL), the Portuguese Writers Association (APE), Estoril-Sol and also “two independent personalities from recognized merit “.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!