Grand final of the Chef Cook of the Year competition has a new date

The Estoril Hotel and Tourism School receives the largest and oldest national cooking competition for professionals. For six hours, six chefs selected from hundreds of participants will be on the test to meet the 2020 Chef of the Year

The grand national final of the Chef Cook of the Year 2020 competition takes place on June 30 at the Estoril Hotel and Tourism School. The contest will start at 10:00 am and the prize delivery is scheduled for 17:00.

The 31st edition of the largest and oldest national cooking contest for professionals will be broadcast live on YouTube and Facebook by Edições do Gosto, organizer of the event created in 1990 by Inter Magazine.

After three regional stages that took place in Porto, Coimbra and Setúbal, the six competitors selected among hundreds of participants are now preparing to dispute the title of Chef of the Year.

During six hours, Cristina Fernandes (Sála Restaurant, Lisbon), Flávio Silva (Coimbra School of Hotel and Tourism), Hugo Portela (Hilton Porto Gaia, Vila Nova de Gaia), Marco Almeida (Quinta das Lágrimas Hotel, Coimbra), Tiago Lopes (Vila Foz Hotel & Spa, Porto) and Tony Martins (Jase Hotels & Resorts, Porto), will have to prepare a menu consisting of soup, fish dish, meat dish on tray and dessert. His creations will be evaluated by the competition jury formed by António Loureiro (The Kitchen), Dieter Koschina (Vila Joya), Henrique Sá Pessoa (Alma), Paulo Pinto and Ricardo Luz (Winner of the 30th edition of Chef of the Year). The presidency of the jury is in charge of António Bóia, do JNcQuoi.

During the day, there will also be cooking demonstrations by previous winners of the Chef of the Year competition, such as Luís Gaspar, Fernando Cardoso, Hélder Diogo, Rui Martins, André Silva, Igor Martinho, Luís Américo and Ricardo Luz.

Due to the current context of the pandemic, the final of the Chef of the Year competition will not have live assistance, as was the case in the regional stages that took place throughout 2020.

Created in 1990 by Inter Magazine, the Chef of the Year competition has already awarded leading names in national cuisine such as Henrique Sá Pessoa, João Rodrigues, Vítor Matos, António Loureiro and Luís Gaspar.

The 31st edition has the main sponsorship of Makro, Estrella Damm and Icel. It is also sponsored by Arroz Bom Sucesso, Costa Verde, Lava and NX Hotelaria, and in partnership with Bonduelle, Carne Mertolenga, Dry Ager, Gresilva, Prochef and Rational. The institutional partner is the Feira Internacional de Lisboa and the competition also has the support of the Portuguese Tourism Schools, ACPP, Rede-T, Chaîne des Rôtisseurs and Mar Portuguez.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!