Guilherme d’Oliveira Martins delivers Estoril Sol Literary Awards

In a solemn ceremony, Wednesday, November 20, at 6 pm, in the Estoril Casino Auditorium.

Guilherme d’Oliveira Martins, President of the Estoril Sol Awards Jury, awards the Vasco Graça Moura Cultural Citizenship Award to Maria do Céu Guerra, as well as the 2018 Fernando Namora and Agustina Bessa-Luis Literary Awards, respectively. Carlos Vale Ferraz and Judite Canha Fernandes.

In this fourth edition of the Vasco Graça Moura Cultural Citizenship Award, the Jury decided to award the award to actress Maria do Céu Guerra. Launched by Estoril Sol, the annual award, worth 20,000 euros, is a tribute to the memory of Vasco Graça Moura.

From the jury’s minutes, Maria do Céu Guerra’s unique trajectory is highlighted, “for having stood out throughout her life in a practise of cultural citizenship, as an actress, who led the scene and in different ways disseminated the great texts of Portuguese and Portuguese literature. , in this intervention, which he kept in “A Barraca” as a nucleus of cultural, formative irradiation and aimed at the discovery and creation of new audiences ”.

Regarding the 21st edition of the Fernando Namora Literary Prize, sponsored by Estoril Sol, with a monetary value of 15 thousand euros, the Jury unanimously distinguished Carlos Vale Ferraz for the novel “The Last Widow of Africa”.

In the minutes, the Jury pointed out in the book “The Last Widow of Africa” that “the memory of colonial experience can be terrifying – Belgian Congo and Angola constitute in this novel the geopolitical axis of warfare and human raving in which a woman (Madame X ) emerges simultaneously as a connecting figure in the story of the novel and the history of the sixties at the beginning of the nationalist war ”.

In turn, regarding the 11th edition of the Agustina Bessa-Luís Revelation Literary Prize, with the value of 10,000 euros, the Jury unanimously distinguished Judite Canha Fernandes with her first novel “A Step to the South”.

In choosing “A Step South,” the jury considered it to be “a novel based on a geographical and existential triangle, spread across Cape Verde, Sao Tome and Azores. Creole’s linguistic and imaginative records creatively fit into the overall structure of the narrative, contributing to the formatting of a very stimulating literary language. ”

The Estoril Sol Awards Jury, besides Guilherme d`Oliveira Martins, was also constituted by José Manuel Mendes, by the Portuguese Writers Association, Manuel Frias Martins, by the Portuguese Association of Literary Critics, Maria Carlos Gil Loureiro, by the Directorate-General Book, Archives and Libraries, Maria Alzira Seixo and Liberto Cruz, individually invited, and also Dinis de Abreu, by Estoril Sol.

Show More

Related Articles

Deixe uma resposta

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!