Here are the winners of the 42nd Cinanima

The German short film “Obon” won the Grand Prix of the Cinanima – Espinho International Animation Film Festival on Saturday, while “Agouro” and “4 States of Matter” won the Portuguese competition “ex-aequo”. organization.

The 42nd edition of the festival began on Monday and until Saturday had 110 films to contest in various competitive modalities and also exhibited 265 works in thematic sessions and parallel retrospective.

Composed by Pedro Serrazina, Riho Unt and Vera Neubauer, the jury of 2018 presented the Grand Prix of the international competition to the animated documentary by Andre Hörmann and Anna Bergman, which in the 2D computerized register of “Obon”, tell in 15 minutes the story of Akiko Takakura, one of the last survivors of the atomic bomb launched in Hiroshima.

Among the Portuguese works, the António Gaio Prize distinguished this year “Agouro”, in which David Doutel and Vasco Sá reveal “the roughness of the relationship between two cousins” in a rigorous winter near the river and “4 States of Matter”, debut work in which Miguel Pires de Matos explores in an abstract register the different physical states of nature and its relation to science, art and religion.

Still in Portuguese production, the 42nd Cinanima also distinguished the film “Harmos”, directed by a collective of children and young people of Abrantes, as the best work by directors under 18 years old, and awarded the best short film by a filmmaker of age work “Viajante”, by João Gonzalez.

Other films awarded in the 2018 edition: “The Call”, which gave the Romanian Anca Damian the Special Prize of the Jury; “Low Season”, with which Hungarian Orsolya Láng won the Gaston Roch Prize for best student film; “The Garden Lost”, by which the French Natalia Chernysheva obtained the Alves Costa Prize for best short film up to 5 minutes; and “The Extraordinary Day” with which Frenchwoman Joanna Lurie won the Best Short Film Prize between five and 24 minutes.

“A magnificent cake,” by Belgians Marc James Roels and Emma De Swaef, won two awards: the Best Short Film Prize between 24 and 50 minutes and the Audience Award.

Only in the feature category is this year no film was awarded, although the jury has awarded an honourable mention to the “Tropical Virus” by Colombian Santiago Caicedo.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!