In the 87 candidates for the Oscar for best foreign film, there is a Portuguese

‘Peregrinação’ by João Botelho is the Portuguese representative on the vast list of 87 pre-candidates for the gold statue.

In all, there are 87 films from 87 different countries trying to appear on the list of five finalists.

João Botelho’s “Pilgrimage” is the Portuguese candidate in search of something unprecedented in international cinema: to be among the five foreign films that the Hollywood Academy will vote for. Also noteworthy for the only other candidate of Portuguese language, the Brazilian film ‘The Great Circus Mystic’, by Carlos Diegues.

The winner of the previous edition in this category was the Chilean ‘Uma Mulher Fantástica’, by Sebastián Lelio.

The finalists of the 91st edition of the Oscars will be announced on January 22, 2019. The awards ceremony is scheduled for February 24.

Keep the list of the 87 foreign pre-candidates, as well as the respective directors and countries they represent.



Afghanistan, ‘Rona Azim’s Mother’ by Jamshid Mahmoudi

South Africa, ‘Sew the Winter to My Skin’ by Jahmil X.T. Qubeka

Germany, ‘Never Look Away’ by Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck

Algeria, Yasmine Chouikh’s ‘Until the End of Time’

Argentina, ‘The Angel’, by Luis Ortega

Armenia, ‘Spitak’, by Alexander Kott

Australia, ‘Jirga’, by Benjamin Gilmour

Austria, ‘The Waldheim Waltz’, by Ruth Beckermann

Bangladesh, ‘No Bed of Roses’ by Mostofa Sarwar Farooki

Belgium, ‘Girl’ by Lukas Dhont

Belarus, ‘Crystal Swan’, by Darya Zhuk

Bolivia, ‘The Goalkeeper’, by Rodrigo ‘Gory’ Patiño

Bosnia and Herzegovina, ‘Never Leave Me’, by Aida Begić

Brazil, ‘The Great Mystic Circus’, by Carlos Diegues

Bulgaria, ‘Omnipresent’, by Ilian Djevelekov

Cambodia, ‘Graves without a Name’, by Rithy Panh

Canada, ‘Family Ties’, by Sophie Dupuis

Kazakhstan, ‘Ayka’, by Sergey Dvortsevoy

Chile, ‘… And Suddenly the Dawn’, by Silvio Caiozzi

China, ‘Hidden Man’ by Jiang Wen

Colombia, Birds of Passage by Cristina Gallego, Ciro Guerra

South Korea, ‘Burning’, by Lee Chang-dong

Costa Rica, ‘Medea’, by Alexandra Latishev

Croatia, ‘The Eighth Commissioner’ by Ivan Salaj

Denmark, ‘The Guilty’, by Gustav Möller

Egypt, ‘Yomeddine’, by A.B. Shawky

Ecuador, ‘A Son of Man’, by Jamaicanoproblem

Slovakia, ‘The Interpreter’, by Martin Šulík

Slovenia, ‘Ivan’, by Janez Burger

Spain, ‘Champions’, by Javier Fesser

Estonia, ‘Take It or Leave It’, by Liina Trishkina-Vanhatalo

Philippines, ‘Signal Rock’, Chito S. Roño

Finland, ‘Euthanizer’, by Teemu Nikki

France, ‘Memoir of War’, by Emmanuel Finkiel

Georgia, ‘Namme’, by Zaza Khalvashi

Greece, ‘Polyxeni’, by Dora Masklavanou

Netherlands, ‘The Resistance Banker’ by Joram Lürsen

Hong Kong, ‘Operation Red Sea’, by Dante Lam

Hungary, ‘Sunset’ by László Nemes

Yemen, ’10 Days before the Wedding ‘by Amr Gamal, director.

India, ‘Village Rockstars’ by Rima Das

Indonesia, ‘Marlina the Murderer in Four Acts’, by Mouly Surya

Iran, ‘No Date, No Signature’, by Vahid Jalilvand

Iraq, ‘The Journey’ by Mohamed Jabarah Al-Daradji

Iceland, ‘Woman at War’, by Benedikt Erlingsson

Israel, ‘The Cakemaker’, Ofir Raul Graizer

Italy, ‘Dogman’, by Matteo Garrone

Japan, ‘Family Matters’, by Hirokazu Kore-eda

Kosovo, ‘The Marriage’, by Blerta Zeqiri

Latvia, ‘To Be Continued’ by Ivars Seleckis

Lebanon, ‘Capernaum’, by Nadine Labaki

Lithuania, ‘Wonderful Losers: A Different World’ by Arunas Matelis

Luxembourg, ‘Gutland’, by Govinda Van Maele

Macedonia, ‘Secret Ingredient’ by Gjorce Stavreski

Malawi, ‘The Road to Sunrise’ by Shemu Joyah

Morocco, ‘Burnout’, by Nour-Eddine Lakhmari

Mexico, ‘Rome’, by Alfonso Cuarón

Montenegro, ‘Iskra’, by Gojko Berkuljan

Nepal, ‘Panchayat’, by Shivam Adhikari

Nigeria, ‘The Wedding Ring’ by Rahmatou Keïta

Norway, ‘What Will People Say’, by Iram Haq

New Zealand, ‘Yellow Is Forbidden’, by Pietra Brettkelly

Palestine, ‘Ghost Hunting’ by Raed Andoni

Panama, ‘Ruben Blades Is Not My Name’, by Abner Benaim

Pakistan, ‘Cake’ by Asim Abbasi

Paraguay, ‘The Heiresses’, by Marcelo Martinessi

Peru, ‘Eternity’, by Oscar Catacora

Poland, ‘Cold War’ by Pawel Pawlikowski

PORTUGAL, ‘Pilgrimage’ (‘Pilgrimage’, in the original title), by João Botelho

Kenya, ‘Supa Modo’, by Likarion Wainaina

United Kingdom, ‘I Am Not a Witch’, Rungano Nyoni

Czech Republic, ‘Winter Flies’, by Olmo Omerzu

Dominican Republic, ‘Cocote’, by Nelson Carlo De Los Santos Arias

Romania, ‘I Do Not Care If We Go Down in History as Barbarians’, by Radu Jude

Russia, ‘Sobibor’, by Konstantin Khabensky

Serbia, ‘Offenders’, by Dejan Zecevic

Singapore, ‘Buffalo Boys’ by Mike Wiluan

Sweden, ‘Border’, by Ali Abbasi

Switzerland, ‘Eldorado’, by Markus Imhoof

Thailand, ‘Malila The Farewell Flower’ by Anucha Boonyawatana

Taiwan, ‘The Great Buddha +’, by Hsin-Yao Huang

Tunisia, Beauty and the Dogs by Kaouther Ben Hania

Turkey, ‘The Wild Pear Tree’, by Nuri Bilge Ceylan

Ukraine, ‘Donbass’, by Sergei Loznitsa

Uruguay, ‘Twelve-Year Night’ by Álvaro Brechner

Venezuela, ‘The Family’, by Gustavo Rondón Córdova

Vietnam, ‘The Tailor’ by Buu Loc Tran, Kay Nguyen

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!