Lisbon’s First Literary Festival takes place between May 5 and 9

The International Festival of Literature and Portuguese Language, Lisbon 5L, has the artistic direction of José Pinho, creator of Folio, and is an initiative of the City Council of Lisbon (CML), which aims to celebrate the World Day of the Portuguese Language and promote the Language, Literature, Books, Bookstores, Reading, Authors and their Readers, the municipality announced in a statement.

For five days, more than 70 authors from eight nationalities gather in Lisbon to participate in the festival that will feature a diverse program, which includes debates, author tables, concerts, cinema, performance, meetings and exhibitions, taking place in different spaces , which go from the São Luiz Theater to the Pharmacy Museum, passing by the Capitetio Cineteatro and Cinema Ideal.

The streets, bookstores, squares and squares of Lisbon will also be the stage for some of the initiatives planned for this edition of Festival 5 L.

The debates and author’s tables are held at São Luiz Teatro Municipal and at the Pharmacy Museum and are attended by renowned and national writers and specialists, both established and newcomers.

Guest authors include Portuguese such as Hugo Cardoso, Inês Fonseca Santos, André Letria, Carla Oliveira, Isabel Minhós Martins, Pedro Mexia, José Pacheco Pereira, Bruno Vieira Amaral, Cláudia Andrade, João Tordo, Dulce Maria Cardoso, Isabel Rio Novo , Lídia Jorge, Mário de Carvalho, Mário Zambujal, Teolinda Gersão, Gonçalo M. Tavares, Filipe Melo, Valter Hugo Mãe, Afonso Cruz, Matilde Campilo or José Luis Peixoto.

Coming from other Portuguese-speaking countries, the writers Itamar Vieira Junior, Paulo Werneck, Paulo Scott, from Brazil, José Eduardo Agualusa and Ondjaki, from Angola, and Innocence Mata, from São Tomé and Príncipe, are expected.

Also participating are authors from other nationalities, such as Alberto Manguel (Argentina), Doris Wieser (Germany), Jean-Luc Nancy and Guillaume Husson (France), Donatella Di Cesare and Leonardo Taiuti (Italy), Jorge Carrión and Jesús Trueba (Spain), among others.

Follow us on social media: Instagram; Facebook; Twitter; Youtube.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!