Marcelo in Guatemala for the 26th Ibero-American Summit

The President of the Republic, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, will participate between Thursday and Friday at the 26th Ibero-American Summit in the historic city of Antigua, Guatemala, whose main theme is sustainable development.

This will be the second meeting of Heads of State and Government of the Ibero-American community in which Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa will be present, accompanied by the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Augusto Santos Silva, who will represent the Portuguese executive.

The Heads of State of Andorra, Brazil, Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Spain, Honduras and the United States have confirmed their presence at the Antigua summit with the motto “A prosperous, inclusive and sustainable Ibero- Mexico, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru and Portugal, as well as the host of Guatemala.

This information was advanced by the Vice-chancellor of Guatemala, Pablo García.

Spain will be represented by King Felipe VI and also by the head of the Government, Pedro Sánchez.

In previous summits, Portugal has also been represented by the heads of State and Government. The President of the Republic, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, and the Prime Minister, António Costa, attended the previous summit in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia, in 2016.

Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa will travel from Portugal on a flight from the Portuguese Air Force, scheduled to arrive at 3:30 p.m. (9:30 p.m. in Lisbon) from Thursday to Guatemala City, from where he will go directly to Antigua, which is about 40 km from the capital.

On Thursday, he will participate in the reception of the President of the Republic of Guatemala, Jimmy Morales, the heads of State and Government of Ibero-American, and the opening dinner of the summit.

On Friday, the works will begin at 10:30 local time (16:30 in Lisbon), after the official photo, and should finish by 17:15 local time (11:15 pm in Lisbon), followed by the press conference President of Guatemala and the Ibero-American Secretariat.

The Ibero-American community consists of 22 countries, including three European countries, Portugal, Spain and Andorra, and 19 Latin American countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, Venezuela, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

The first summit of this community was held in 1991 in Guadalajara, Mexico. The meetings were repeated annually until 2014. Since then, they have been held every two years.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!