Minister congratulates Tiago Rodrigues on the European Theater Award

The Minister of Culture, Graça Fonseca, in a statement released today, “congratulates the director and director of the National Theater Dona Maria II (TNDMII), Tiago Rodrigues” for the award of the 15th Prize New European Theatrical Realities.

As part of this assignment, a program in the area of theatre and stage arts begins today, in St Petersburg, in northwestern Russia, and next Saturday the Portuguese director will receive the award at the Alexandrinsky Theater.

Graça Fonseca recalls that “this is the second time that Portuguese theatre has been celebrated internationally through the most relevant prize awarded by a wide range of programmers, critics, directors and theatrical specialists after, in 2010, the Southern Theater was distinguished with the same prize, also in St. Petersburg. ”

“Tiago Rodrigues joins a list that includes key names for the renewal of European theatres, such as the directors Romeo Castelluci, Thomas Ostermeier, Katie Mitchell, Christophe Marthaler, Rodrigo Garcia or the choreographers Anne Teresa de Kekersmaeker and Sasha Waltz,” says the minister.

The director will present in St. Petersburg “Burning the Flag (work in progress)”, “By Heart” and “Breath”, three projects of their own.

After the presence in St. Petersburg and the Festival d’Automne à Paris, the shows “Sopro” and “By Heart” will be presented in the French capital, the Théâtre de la Bastille, the Théâtre de Chelles and the Espace 1789 de Saint – Listen.

According to a TNDMII statement, all sessions are already exhausted.

The award of the prize to Tiago Rodrigues was announced last July 11.

For the jury of the prize, the artistic director of D. Maria II has “given life to a new personal way of building bridges between cities and nations, in both civil and artistic cooperation between different peoples,” thus being one of the award- that “they continue to fight for a new European Theater, that goes beyond any barrier or prejudice”.

Graça Fonseca recalls that “over the years, and through creations such as’ If a window opens’, ‘Three fingers below the knee’, ‘Sadness and joy in the life of the giraffes’,’ Bovary ‘,’ Antonio and Cleopatra Tiago Rodrigues contributed with a dramaturgical and imaginative body that works from the possibility of rewriting of the reality, to make it poetically realizable ” .

“The humanist dimension of his texts, attentive to the failures of man, guides a relationship between the stage and the audience believing in the possibility of eliminating the ephemerality of the theatre itself,” the minister concludes.

The European Theater Prize was established in 1986, and among the distinguished creators are names such as playwrights or stage directors Christoph Marthaler, Thomas Ostermeier, Katie Mitchell and Pippo Delbono.

The New European Theatrical Realities Prize represents not only an artistic celebration but a platform for the promotion of interdisciplinarity, integration and cooperation between the Theater and the other arts.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!