Murta performs at EDPCOOLJAZZ 2020

Portuguese artist Murta performs on July 3 at the EDPCOOLJAZZ festival, the same as the American artist John Legend

The first night of EDPCOOLJAZZ welcomes Murta, one of the biggest revelations of pop/soul in recent years in the Portuguese music scene, thanks to his unique voice and his own compositions.

The young composer will perform at the summer festival on July 3, where he shares the stage with the iconic John Legend, who also takes the stage at the festival on the same day.

Francisco Murta appears on public radar when he competed for the television program “The Voice Portugal”, where he reached the final Gala in 2016.

In 2018, Murta collaborates with the young Algarve rapper Domi, on the single “Rosas” and edits his first single “Porquê”.

In 2019 he edited his first album D’Art Vida, which includes themes like “Saudade” and “Segredos”. In 2020, he is nominated for a revelation award in the second edition of the Play Awards.

He was born in Figueira da Foz, grew up between Samora and Benavente and, at least until the age of 12, he still did not feel the passion he now feels for music.


The accidents of life ended up taking him to the piano, gradually discovering an interest that never left him.

Today, not only is he the one who writes the lyrics and composes the music of his songs, he also plays various musical instruments, such as the piano, guitar, bass, ukelele, among others.

The desire to continue learning took him to the Hot Club, in 2016, to further explore his voice and piano and from then on he started giving more and more concerts and with the positive feedback he was receiving, he realized that he could dedicate himself entirely to the music.

The night of the 3rd of July is even more complete, having confirmed concerts by Murta and John Legend, in a special night dedicated to pop/soul, with two unique voices taking the stage of EDPCOOLJAZZ.

In the 17th edition of EDPCOOLJAZZ artists like Lionel Richie, Neneh Cherry, KOKOROKO, Miguel Araújo, Tiago Nacarato, Herbie Hancock, Yann Tiersen and Jorge Ben Jor are already confirmed.

More names to be announced soon!

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!