Nélida Piñon wins Literary Prize Vergílio Ferreira 2019

The Brazilian writer Nélida Piñon was today distinguished with the Literary Prize Vergílio Ferreira 2019, attributed by the University of Évora (UÉ), revealed a source of the Alentejo academy.

The decision was made during a meeting of the jury of the prize, presided over by UÉ professor Antonio Sáez Delgado and also includes the university professors Cláudia Afonso Teixeira (UÉ), Fernando Cabral Martins (New University of Lisbon) and Ângela Fernandes (University of Lisbon ), as well as the literary critic Anabela Mota Ribeiro.

Established by the UÉ in 1996, to honour the writer who gives it the name, the prize is destined to annually award the whole of the literary work of a Portuguese author relevant in the scope of narrative and/or essay.

According to a UÉ note, the jury decided to award this year the prize to Nélida Piñon for the “latitude and depth of his work, which reveals a language capable of establishing and harmonizing a fertile dialogue between women’s memory and history.

Born in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil) in 1937, Nélida Piñon, 81, was the first woman to preside at the Brazilian Academy of Letters in 1996 and is one of the greatest living Brazilian writers, whose work has been awarded several prizes.

According to the biography published on the website of her publisher in Portugal, the writer has an extensive literary production, translated in several languages and distinguished with the prizes Rosalía de Castro, Jabuti, Casa de las Americas and the Prince of Asturias of Letters, among others.

The author has published in Portugal, among others, the titles “The Republic of Dreams“, “Book of the hours” and “Apprentice of Homer“.

The University of Évora indicated that the 2019 edition of the Literary Prize Vergílio Ferreira counted on applications from four countries and that the award ceremony will take place on March 1, 2019, the date on which the death of the writer.

For that day, the academy said, a ceremony will be held that will feature the interventions of the winner, the jury and the rector of the UÉ.

The prize was awarded to Maria Velho da Costa for the first time, followed by Mia Couto, Almeida Faria, Eduardo Lourenço, Agustina Bessa Luís, Vasco Graça Moura, Mário Cláudio, Luísa Dacosta, José Gil, Hélia Correia Lídia Jorge and João de Melo, having been awarded in the edition of 2018 the writer Gonçalo M. Tavares.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!