Nobel Prize for Literature 2020 goes to the poet Louise Glück

The jury awarded the award to Glück, 77, to mark his unmistakable poetic voice, which with austere beauty, makes individual existence universal.

The name of the author, born in 1943, in New York, was not on the list of the main candidates this year, but Glück has a long history in the letters of the USA. She has already won the Pulitzer Prize, and other awards, such as the National Medal of Arts and Humanities.

Currently living in Cambridge, Massachusetts (USA), she is also an English teacher at Yale University.

It debuted in 1968 with “Firstborn” and has already published twelve collections of poetry – such as “The Garden” (1976), “Vita nova” (1999), “Averno” (2006), and “Faithful and Virtuous Night”, a most recent poetic work, from 2014 and which earned him the National Book Award, in the United States.

The Nobel Prize for Literature, involved in several controversies in recent years, has a value of more than 900 thousand euros.

In a list of largely male recipients, Gluck becomes the seventh woman to be distinguished this century and the 16th, since 1901, among the 117 people who were awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!