New cycle of Promenade Concerts starts this Sunday, with Mussorgsky and Maurice Ravel

On the morning of next Sunday, February 19th, the Coliseu Porto Ageas begins a new cycle of Promenade Concerts, with “Pictures from an Exhibition”, by Mussorgsky, in the orchestral version composed by Ravel.

A happy encounter between the creative genius of Mussorgsky and the talent of one of the best modern orchestrators, Ravel, which translates the concept of Promenade: the intersection of arts and audiences of all ages, which, one Sunday a month, gather at the Coliseum to listen to the best stories of some of the most emblematic musical works of all time.

“Pictures from an Exhibition”, performed here by Orquestra Clássica de Espinho, and conducted by maestro Pedro Neves, was born from the inspiration of Modest Mussorgsky, who, in 1874, visited an art gallery in Saint Petersburg to see the paintings of his friend, the architect, and painter Viktor Hartmann. Inspired by the paintings on display, he composed piano music for each of them, creating vivid musical images of landscapes and characters with their melodies.

Mussorgsky, who died in 1881, never knew the enormous success of his creation, achieved in 1922, after the brilliant orchestration of Maurice Ravel. It is the complete version for orchestra that will be heard in the commented concert this Sunday, in the Coliseu.

This is the first of seven works that will be performed in 2023 at the Promenade Concerts, which include other emblematic works such as “As Quatro Estações”, by Vivaldi, or “A Minha Mãe Ganso”, by Ravel. With artistic direction by maestro Cesário Costa, the commentary is by the musicologist Jorge Castro Ribeiro and the multimedia design is signed by Sara Botelho.

Introduced in Portugal by Coliseu Porto Ageas in 2005, in the nine seasons held until 2014, the Promenade Concerts attracted more than 130,000 spectators. One Sunday a month, in a relaxed atmosphere, young and old alike are invited to enter the atmosphere of fundamental work and discover all its notes and curiosities.

All Promenade Concerts are, since 2022, accessible as Relaxed Sessions, that is, they are sessions that adapt to all people and families who prefer or benefit from a more relaxed environment: people with attention deficit, intellectual disability, spectrum conditions autistic, sensory or communication disorders, as well as families with young children.

Relaxed Sessions take place in a more informal and welcoming atmosphere, with more tolerant rules with regard to movement and noise in the room. They may also involve minor adjustments in the show (lighting, sound, etc.) and in welcoming the public, in order to better adapt to their needs. They also acquire a formative value, as these people are allowed to experience the culture in a safe environment, and understand whether they can attend other sessions without being relaxed.

In addition to providing, upon request, “volume blocking” headphones, and the possibility of a multisensory experience of contact with the musicians and their instruments, a Comfort Room / quiet room was also created. A Visual History of the Promenade Concerts is also available, either on the Coliseu website or at the ticket office on the day of the concert.

“Promenade Concert 2.0 – Pictures from an Exhibition” starts at 11:00 am and tickets cost between €8 and €14. Discounts: Students 50%, Coliseum Friends and Family ticket (+3 elements) 25%, Over 65s 25%.


Always confirm with the concert hall or promoter the conditions of access, confirmation of the date or time, tickets place of sale, price, and availability.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, and TikTok and see the exclusive content for social networks.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!