‘O Labirinto da Saudade’ nominated at the Macondo Awards

The documentary ‘O Labirinto da Saudade’, directed by Miguel Gonçalves Mendes, was nominated at the Macondo Awards for Best Ibero-American Film.

The Portuguese director’s documentary is part of a list of 10 nominees in the Best Ibero-American Film category.
The awards ceremony will be on November 9, according to a statement from the Portuguese Academy of Cinema.

The other movies competing in this category are:
“Campeones” by Javier Fresser (Spain),
“Roma”, by Alfonso Cuarón (Mexico),
“Rojo” by Benjamín Naishtat (Argentina),
“Averno”, by Marcos Loayza (Bolivia),
“Sueño Florianópolis”, by Ana Katz (Brazil),
“Cenizas”, by Juan Sebastián Jácome (Ecuador),
“Las Herederas”, by Marcelo Martinessi (Paraguay),
“El Silencio Del Viento” by Álvaro Aponte-Centeno (Puerto Rico),
“La Familia”, by Gustavo Rondón Cordoba (Venezuela).

“O Labirinto da Saudade” is an adaptation of the eponymous work by Eduardo Lourenço, which premiered on May 2018, and has won the Sophia Prize for Best Feature Documentary this year.

The documentary, narrated and starring Eduardo Lourenço, and “walks the corridors of his memory and the history of Portugal“, can be read in the statement.

Along the way, it intersects with ghosts of our past and friends of its present – striking figures of Lusophone culture such as Alvaro Siza Vieira, Jose Carlos Vasconcelos, Diogo Doria, Gonçalo M. Tavares, Lidia Jorge, Ricardo Araújo Pereira and Gregory Duvivier, who assume the role of interlocutors and conductors of the reflections written in the book “, can still be read in the statement of the Portuguese Academy of Cinema.

The Macondo Awards, taking place for the first time in the city of Medellin, Colombia, have been awarded annually since 2010 by the Colombian Film Academy.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!