“O Senhor d `Além” by Teresa Veiga won the Fernando Namora Award

unanimously by the Jury

With the novel “O Senhor d`Além”, Teresa Veiga unanimously won the Fernando Namora Literary Prize, promoted by Estoril Sol, with a monetary value of 15 thousand euros.

Teresa Veiga (literary pseudonym) was born in Lisbon where she lives. She graduated in Law in 1968 and in Romance Philology in 1980, having worked as a civil registry clerk between 1975 and 1983, in different locations in the Alentejo and Algarve, where she lived for several years. She was also a teacher and signed eight books, including volumes of short stories, novels and novels.

In a short time, Teresa Veiga won over specialized critics, which highlighted her “remarkable narrative mastery”. She was, however, distinguished with several literary prizes, namely, as a short story writer, a modality in which she obtained remarkable notoriety.

In the minutes, the Jury found in the winning novel “O Senhor d`Além” a “clean and luminous writing” that gives us “a captivating story of people who are both common and singular. The author’s stylistic sobriety, exemplary as a way of understanding artistic writing, structures a novel whose legibility invites the reader to participate in the very narrative he is reading. Whether for the remarkable ability to observe and describe, or for the quiet inventiveness, or for the admirable economy of the narrative.

For the Jury, “O Senhor d’Além” is “a novel that is a compliment to the art of writing well. To point out its importance in the context of current Portuguese literature is, therefore, the validation of its intrinsic value”.

For her part, about the award-winning novel, Teresa Veiga says that “when I started writing “O Senhor d`Além” I still didn’t have a defined plan, but I already knew that it would develop around two fundamental points: the discovery by someone from a place in the Algarve that I had known and loved for a long time, and a certain house, an interview on the road, which for some reason had aroused a particular resonance in me”.

And it was like this, around this house and that man, that the story was built, characters and situations emerging almost as an inevitability”.
This book could be called “A Casa das Palmeiras” and it would also be an appropriate title. After all, it is the house and Senhor d’Além who open the book and determine its outcome”.
It was a book written with special pleasure because it obeyed a very strong motivation”.
For the writer, “I am therefore very happy to have been awarded the Fernando Namora Prize, an author I began to read in the 1970s and to which I return sometimes for different reasons, because, being a great writer, his work does not it only reflects the Portuguese reality as it is also an attentive look at the world. I couldn’t be in better company.

It should be remembered that Teresa Veiga is the only Portuguese writer who, until 2020, has received the Camilo Castelo Branco Conto Grand Prize three times. Despite the awards and the recognition of her quality work, the writer is reserved and avaricious to public interventions and does not usually grant interviews. It is even known that she has been in her book launches, but without the public knowing who it was.

She is therefore considered a “mysterious” author, who arouses the curiosity of readers interested in going further in the knowledge of the fictionist’s profile.

Teresa Veiga published her first book in 1981 – “Jacobo and Other Stories” – and was soon noticed for the exceptionality of her text.

The Jury also highlighted other competing novels, including the finalists voted on, the works by José Luís Peixoto, “Almoço de Domingo”; by José Gardeazabal, “Quarentena Uma História de Amor”; by Hugo Gonçalves,Deus Pátria Família”; by Djaimilia Pereira de Almeida, “Maremoto”; and by Amadeu Lopes Sabino, “Tempo de Fuga”.

Chaired by Guilherme d`Oliveira Martins, the Jury of this 25th edition of the Fernando Namora Literary Prize was also composed by José Manuel Mendes, the Portuguese Association of Writers, Manuel Frias Martins, the Portuguese Association of Literary Critics, Maria Carlos Gil Loureiro, by the -General of the Book, Archives and Libraries, Ana Paula Laborinho, Liberto Cruz and José Carlos de Vasconcelos, invited individually, and by Dinis de Abreu, by Estoril Sol.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, and TikTok and see the exclusive content for social networks.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!