Portugal with Sweden, France and Russia in the European U20

Portugal will play Sweden, France and Russia in the UEFA European Under-20 Handball finals on July 2-12 in Austria and Italy, the draw in Vienna said today.

The Portuguese national team, who finished fourth last year behind champions Slovenia, ‘vice’ France and Germany, will play the first phase of the group B campaign, which will take place in the Austrian city of Innsbruck.

As in the 2018 edition, in which Portugal collected two individual awards, with Diogo Silva being considered the most valuable player (MVP) and Luís Frade the best pivot, France (like the seniors) cross again on the national team path. Portuguese.

In preparation for the UEFA European Under-20 Championship finals at the 4 Nations Tournament in Estarreja, Portugal lost 31-24 to France and finished last with no triumph. Germany was the winning team, followed by Spain and France.

From coach Nuno Santos’s team, who finished fourth in Slovenia, second best after silver in 2010, they have moved up to the senior squad, who are currently competing in the European2020, pivot Luís Frade and defender André Gomes.

The first phase of the European2020 will be played by 16 teams, for the first time in two countries, Austria and Italy, distributed in four groups. They go to the main round, competing for two groups of four, the top two.

The two organizing teams, Austria and Italy, had the primacy of choosing the groups, after drawing pots 1, 2 and 3, and both avoided the group of Portugal, which attests to the difficulties that await the Portuguese.

In addition to Portugal’s Group B, also D, with the national teams of Denmark (2010, 2008, 1998 and 1996 champions), Germany (which won gold in 2014, 2006 and 2004), Hungary and Israel, were avoided by the organizers Austria and Italy.

The draw dictated the following groups:

Group A (Innsbruck): Iceland, Serbia, Norway and Austria.

Group B (Innsbruck): Sweden, France, Portugal and Russia.

Group C (Bressanone): Croatia, Spain, Slovenia and Italy.

Group D (Bressanone): Denmark, Germany, Hungary and Israel.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!