Sakiru Adebayo wins the Amílcar Cabral Award

The Amílcar Cabral Prize 2022 was awarded to the specialist in African literature Sakiru Adebayo, in the second edition of the award promoted by the Institute of Contemporary History and the Padrão dos Descobrimentos / EGEAC.

Selected from among ten nominations, Adebayo’s work, “The black soul is (still) a white man’s artefact? Postcoloniality, post-Fanonism and the tenacity of race(ism) in A. Igoni Barrett’s Blackass”, was published in the journal African Studies (TF).

The competition jury, made up of Manuela Ribeiro Sanches, Victor Barros, and Rui Gomes Coelho, considered that the article highlights “the persistent shadows of European imperial cultural domination in Nigeria, its legacies and its effects on the Nigerian post-colonial imaginary; and insists on the global interconnections that the idea of race and contemporary racism weave as part of the global structure of political, economic-capitalist, social and cultural domination that goes beyond the simple question of nationality and geography.”

Sakiru Adebayo was born in Nigeria, having graduated from the University of Ibadan before moving to South Africa, where he completed a Ph.D. at the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, in African Literature. He is currently an Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Creative and Critical Studies at the University of British Columbia, Canada.

The jury also awarded two honorable mentions: to Merve Fejzula, from the University of Missouri, with the article “Gendered Labour, Negritude, and the Black Public Sphere,” published in the journal Historical Research (OUP); and Burak Sayim, from the University of New York – Abu-Dhabi, with the article “Transregional by design: The early communist press in the middle east and global revolutionary networks”, published in the Journal of Global History (CUP).

The Amílcar Cabral Prize was created in 2021, aiming to “promote scientific research and public debate on anti-colonial resistance and colonial processes that mark the history of the world, from the 15th century to the present day”.

The winner of the first edition was Esmat Elhalaby, from the University of Toronto, with work on Wadi’ Al-Bustani.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, and TikTok and see the exclusive content for social networks.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!