Sam Smith release fourth studio album, “Gloria”

New Single “I’m Not Here To Make Friends” Produced by Calvin Harris

After the phenomenal performance of “SNL (Saturday Night Live)”, Sam Smith released his fourth studio album, “Gloria”. Apropos of the release, Sam Smith will reveal the video for the single “I’m Not Here To Make Friends” (produced by Calvin Harris), at 6 pm today.

Directed by Tanu Muino (Lil Nas X, Harry Styles, Normani), the video for “I’m Not Here To Make Friends” shows Sam dressed in pink (with a Tomo Koizumi costume), arriving in style – stepping out of a golden helicopter, being greeted by a bacchanal-inspired celebration. Hedonistic, exciting, and compelling, we see Sam in top form as he takes over a country house partying far and wide, fully embracing the moment. In the video, we see Sam on a wrecking ball as he swings from a large chandelier as the song swells and the people at the party show their admiration for you. An allegory for relentless individuality, the video denotes freedom, joy, and self-expression, an insightful introduction to the overarching theme of the upcoming album.

Gloria” is not just a creative revelation, but something of a personal revolution.Gloria” is the sound of crushing handcuffs falling to the ground, of joyfully breaking boundaries, of talent yet to discover what it means to be truly free – to be in touch with your innermost self. A creative challenge for Sam Smith, on this album they decided to create the opposite of a heartbreaking album; I wanted to build the armor they wished they had when they were growing up, the disc they would have liked to have had when they were growing up. “Gloria” draws on some of Sam’s famous female figures (Jessie Reyez, Kim Petras, Koffee) and explores themes of sex, passion, self-expression, and imperfection.

The album’s title is not a reference to a person, past or present, but to that shivering, enigmatic life force Sam Smith christened “Gloria“. Speaking of the album, the artists explain: “‘Gloria’ is also a celebration of all genres and all the pop divas, vocalists, and songwriters that I love. I took all those memories and put them in an album. I wanted to be challenging. Is this my diva album? “I think so! I think I finally let my Gloria out.” Longtime collaborators Jimmy Napes, Stargate, and ILYA (Max Martin’s colleague) helped fuel “Gloria,” which boldly traverses sounds ranging from electro-pop to the most glorious melodic reveries, through dancehall and freak-pop, exquisite ballads and a true anthem sung by a choir.

The disc features the recent dancehall-influenced single “Gimme and features Colombian-Canadian singer Jessie Reyes and Jamaican reggae artist Koffee, but also includes a collaboration with Ed Sheeran on “Who We Love,” the euphoric song for the dance floor, “Lose You”, a beautiful lullaby entitled “Gloria” and the worldwide hit “Unholy” with Kim Petras.

Unholygarnered nearly 2 billion streams worldwide. The single was Sam’s first song to reach #1 on Billboard’s Hot 100, having made history with Kim Petras as the first non-binary and transgender artist to reach #1 on this top. The single was nominated for a GRAMMY and remained #1 on the Spotify and Apple Music global charts for over 4 weeks after release. “Unholy” is a platinum single in Portugal.

Sam Smith won Grammys, BRIT Awards, a Golden Globe, and an Oscar and is among the most famous artists in recent history, having an enviable collection of hits in his repertoire. “Gloria” is Sam’s fourth studio album and follows on from the highly successful and critically acclaimed 2020 album “Love Goes“. Sam has sold over 38 million albums, 283 million singles sold, and 51 billion streams. Their multi-platinum debut, “In the Lonely Hour”, became the highest-selling debut album of the decade. Sam has collaborated with artists such as Calvin Harris on the international hit “Promises”, Normani on the much-loved r&b hit “Dancing with a Stranger”, or African superstar Burna Boy on “My Oasis”. Sam Smith also has two Guinness Records – for most consecutive weeks in the UK Top 10 with “In the Lonely Hour” and for having sung the first James Bond song to reach #1. of the top sellers in the United Kingdom (with “Writing’s on the Wall”, a song awarded at the Oscars and Golden Globes).

The artists will start a world tour to present “Gloria”, which will pass through Portugal, with a concert scheduled for the 8th of July at the NOS Alive festival.

Gloria is the most confident and creative version of Sam to date. The courageous spirit runs through the entire album, expressively and exuberantly. The juxtaposition of religion and sexual liberation that distinguishes “Gloria feels like a second coming of age as Sam Smith comes to his truth.


  • “Love Me More”
  • “No God”
  • “Hurting Interlude”
  • “Lose You”
  • “Perfect (with Jessie Reyez)”
  • “Unholy (with Kim Petras)”
  • “How To Cry”
  • “Six Shots”
  • “Gimme (with Koffee & Jessie Reyez)”
  • “Dorothy’s Interlude”
  • “I’m Not Here To Make Friends”
  • “Gloria”
  • “Who We Love (with Ed Sheeran)”

Always confirm with the concert hall or promoter the conditions of access, confirmation of the date or time, tickets place of sale, price, and availability.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, and TikTok and see the exclusive content for social networks.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!