Sophia Awards Student with 34 nominees

The fifth edition of the Sophia Estudante awards has a total of 34 named, revealed today the organization of the event that, on December 13, in Porto, will announce the top three of the five categories.

The nominees are divided by the categories of Animation, Documentary, Experimental, Fiction and Best Poster, added the organization’s source.

In the category of best animated short film were named ‘Non-Human’, by Pedro Soares (Higher School of Media Arts and Design), ‘Agridoce’ by Tiago Monteiro (Escola Artistico Soares dos Reis), ‘Sleep Tight’ João Ribeiro, Miguel Silva and Rafael Garcia (Higher School of Media Arts and Design), ‘The Hat’ by Alexandra Allen (Polytechnic Institute of Cávado and Ave), ‘Bruma’ by Sofia Cachim, Daniela Santos, Gabriel Peixoto and Mónica Correia (Catholic University of Porto) and Harden Edges, by José Carlos da Costa Bizarro Morais (Polytechnic Institute of Cávado and Ave).

The jury includes animation producer Humberto Santana, 3D animator Cláudio Jordão, actress Joana Pais de Brito, producer António Costa Valente and actress Maria João Bastos.

As for the category of best documentary short film was named ‘GEN.Y’, by Débora Martins (World Academy), ‘Only there are some, Pedro Gama’ (University Institute of Maia), ‘A man is not a man (‘School of Arts and Design’), ‘Tierra Ardida’, by Francisco Romão (School of Technologies for Innovation and Creation), ‘After the Fire’ by Ahsan Mahmood (Universidade Lusófona), and ‘Idiosyncrasies ‘, by Noé Pereira (University of Beira Interior).

The judges of the category are the directors Jorge Pelicano, Mário Patrocínio and Leonel Brito.

For best short film, nine titles were nominated: ‘Awaken’, by Cristiano Maciel, Diogo Bastos, Joana Soares and Rita Almeida (University of Minho), ‘Aurora’ by Lourenço Vaz and Rita Isaúl (School of Technologies Innovation and Creation ), ‘Memoriam’, by Andreia Pereira (Superior School of Arts and Design), ‘Broken’ by Gabriela Marcolino (University of Aveiro), ‘Mariposa’ by Sofia Mendes (Escola Secundária António Damásio), ‘Are you okay ? ‘, by António Ferreira, Carlos Seixas and Luís Ribeiro (University of Trás-os-Montes and Alto Douro),’ At the End of the Sea ‘by João Monteiro (Escola Superior do Porto),’ Azimute ‘by Ana Catarina Brás (Lusófona University), and Pedro Pacheco’s ‘Curse of the Pharaoh’ (ETIC Algarve – School of Technologies, Innovation and Creation of the Algarve).

The jury includes the director João Marco, the sound designer Branko Neskov, the actress Sofia Reis and the makeup artist Gabriela Amado.

In the best short fiction films were named ‘Dark’, by Leonor Alexandrino (Lusófona University), ‘Cinzas’ by Célia Fraga (Oporto Superior Art School), Tomorrow Island by Gwenn Joyaux (Lusófona University) Sputnik ‘by Miguel Magalhães (Catholic University of Porto),’ Ruptura ‘by Gonçalo Santos (School of Media Arts and Design),’ Colapso ‘by Carolina Lourenço (School of Innovation and Creation Technologies), and’ Legend of the rooster, by Carlos Araújo (Superior School of Arts and Design Media).

The jury is composed of the cinematographer Luís Branquinho, the actress Teresa Madruga, the director Luís Diogo and the screenwriter Luís Campos.

For the best poster were named ‘Bruma’, by designer Monica Correia (Catholic University of Porto), ‘A man is not a man only’, by designer Sara Gonçalves (ESMAD – School of Media Arts and Design), ‘Lotus flower ‘by designer Maria Clara Norbachs (University of Beira Interior).

The designers João Monteiro, Guilherme Mendes and Nelson Sousa were also selected in the category of design, with the works’ At the End of the Sea ‘,’ Ruptura ‘and ’20 .06.2016’.

The jury is composed of Paulo Trancoso, producer and president of the Portuguese Academy of Cinema, Igor Ramos, graphic designer and winner of the 2017 Nico Award, and Luís Carlos Amaral, graphic designer.

‘The Sound in the Cinema’ is the subject of Sophia Estudante 2018 and gives the motto to the two masterclasses with figures of relief in this field that will take place the morning of the 13 of December. The first will be given by Nelson Ferreira, editor of Portuguese descendent sound, the second by Tom Fleischman, New York sound mixer five times named to the Oscars.

The Sophia Estudante Awards are a ceremony of the Portuguese Academy of Cinema, with the support of the Institute of Cinema and Audiovisual in the scope of the promotion of student cinema, and distinguish short films from students of higher education and technical establishments in Portugal.

Show More

Related Articles

Deixe uma resposta

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!