Souto de Moura wins award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters

The architect Eduardo Souto de Moura is the winner of the Arnold W. Brunner Award of 2019, of the American Academy of Arts and Letters, for his “important contribution to architecture,” said an institution today.

Created in 1955, the prize, worth $ 20,000, is intended to distinguish architects from their nationality.

Selected from 33 nominees, Souto de Moura was selected for the “timeless and deeply humanistic quality” of his work, which has a “feeling of inevitability,” said the architect, Annabelle Selldorf, chairman of the jury.

The exhibition had a number of notable projects by the Portuguese architect, among them the highlight of the Braga Municipal Stadium, a Burgo Tower in Porto and a Paula Rego House of Stories in Cascais.

The career of Eduardo Souto de Moura came close to 40 years and more than ten awards, such as the Golden Lion of the Venice Biennale, awarded last year, and the Pritzker, the “Nobel of architecture” in 2011, by the group of the work.

Among other distinctions, he received the Prize Piranesi of the Academy of Architecture and Archeology Onlus, in Rome, in 2017, the Prize of the X Iberian American Biennial of Architecture and Urbanism, in 2016, “for the important contribution of his teaching in the community of countries” The Wolf Lobo Arts Prize in Israel in 2013, the Pessoa Prize in 1998 and the Prize of the Portuguese Region of the International Association of Art Critics in 1996.

The Graça Morais Contemporary Art Center in Bragança, a remodelling and enhancement of the Grão Vasco National Museum in Viseu, a Casa do Cinema Manoel de Oliveira and the Portuguese Photography Center in Porto, the interior design of the Chiado Warehouses, in Lisbon, are among his projects, as well as the pavilion of the Serpentine Gallery, in the Kensington Gardens in London, made in partnership with Álvaro Siza, began his career in 1981.

In addition to Souto de Moura, an American Academy of Arts and Literature also distinguishes this year with an individual award of ten thousand dollars, the director of the Institute of Architecture of Southern California. Hernan Dias Alonzo, for his influence on the future of the profession, the States of Global Africa, the Architecture Department of Columbia University (GSAPP / Columbia) in New York, Mario Gooden and Mabel O. Wilson, “Because of a of a fairer world, Eric Höweler and Meejin Yoon of Boston,” for their innovative ways and technologies, “and Anne Rieselbach, director of the New York Architectural League program,” for development support. ” of new ideas in urban design and architecture “.

Prizes are awarded during the Academy’s annual ceremony in New York in May.

Among the architects already distinguished by Phyllis Lambert, Sheila O’Donnell and John Tuomey, Alberto Campo Baeza, Kathryn Gustafson and Diébédo Francis Kéré.

Annabelle Selldorf (president), Henry N. Cobb, Kenneth Frampton, Steven Holl, Thom Mayne, Laurie Olin, Tiago Polshek, Billie Tsien and Tod Williams.

Show More

Related Articles

Deixe uma resposta

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!