Twelve authors of poetry finalists to the Casino da Póvoa Literary Prize

Twelve authors, among them Luis Quintais, Adília Lopes and Daniel Jonas, are finalists of the Casino da Póvoa Literary Prize, attributed in the framework of the literary meeting Correntes d’Escritas, in Póvoa de Varzim, was announced today.

This year, the prize is devoted to poetry and he has applied for 45 works, with the jury selected 12 finalists, among which authors who have already been nominated in previous editions, such as Luís Quintais, Golgona Anghel, José Tolentino Mendonça and João Rivers.

The finalist works are: “A Noite Imóvel” (Luís Quintais), “Bandolim” (Adília Lopes), “De Passagem” (José Alberto Oliveira), “Existência” (Gastão Cruz), “Swim in the pool of the little ones” Angelo), “It’s Not Serious To Be Portuguese” (João Rios), “Oblivion” (Daniel Jonas), “Rua antes do Céu” (José Luís Tavares), “Suite without Vista” (Inês Fonseca Santos), “Tardio” ( Rosa Oliveira), “Frontier Theory” (José Tolentino Mendonça) and “Tratado” (Luís Carmelo).

Gastão Cruz won this literary prize in 2009 with the work “The currency of time”.

Of the 12 finalist works for this prize – which usually has the monetary value of 20,000 euros – seven were published by Assírio & Alvim, four by Abysmo and one by Tinda da China.

This year’s jury includes Almeida Faria, Ana Paula Tavares, José António Gomes, Maria Quintans and Marta Bernardes. The winning piece will be announced on February 19th.

The twentieth edition of Correntes d’Escritas – Encounter of Writers of Iberian Expression will be held from February 16 to 27 at the Garrett Cinema-Theater, in Póvoa de Varzim.

Presented as the biggest edition ever, the meeting will be attended by more than 140 guests, from twenty countries, among them a Cervantes prize, Nicaraguan Sergio Ramírez, about to launch “No one cries for me” in Portugal, three (Lídia Jorge, Ana Luísa Amaral, Manuel Jorge Marmelo, Juan Gabriel Vásquez, and Hélia Correia), and five literary prizes, Camões (Arménio Vieira, Germano Almeida, and Hélia Correia) and five literary prizes.

The President of the Republic, Marcelo Rebelo de Sousa, will lead the opening ceremony on the 19th, while the President of the Republic of Cape Verde, Jorge Carlos Fonseca, will give the inaugural conference on “Language Letters and Creators Mobility in the CPLP “.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!