Vila Real

It is the seat of a municipality with 378.80 km² of area and 51 850 inhabitants (2011), subdivided since the administrative reorganization of 2012/2013 in 20 parishes. The municipality is limited to the north by the municipalities of Ribeira de Pena and Vila Pouca de Aguiar, to the east by Sabrosa, to the south by Peso da Régua, to the southwest by Santa Marta de Penaguião, to the west by Amarante and to the northwest by Mondim de Basto .

Grown on a plateau located at the confluence of the Corgo and Cabril rivers, the city is framed in a beautiful natural landscape (Escarpas do Corgo), with the backdrop of the mountains of Alvão and, further away, Marão. With more than seven hundred years of existence, Vila Real was once known as the “Corte de Trás-os-Montes”, due to the high number of emblazoned houses that it then had.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!