Vítor Santos and Ana Santos win in Melgaço

Vítor Santos and Ana Santos, both from Patocycles/Eyres by Shamir, are the first commanders of the Portuguese Cyclocross Cup in the elite category, after today winning the inaugural stage, in Melgaço.

The first three laps of the elite men’s event were the scene of a balanced heads-up match between Vítor Santos and Jorge Magalhães (W52-FC Porto), who rode together in the head of the race. However, during the fourth lap, the Patocycles/Eyres by Shamir rider isolated himself and pedaled to victory.

Vítor Santos won the first race of the Portuguese Cyclocross Cup 2020/2021, supplanting two road professionals, who accompanied him on the podium. Jorge Magalhães recorded a delay of 29 seconds and Pedro Miguel Lopes (Kelly-Simoldes-UDO) arrived 1m32s later than the winner.

The elite women’s race had only two participants, both of whom were juniors in the 2020 season. Ana Santos, who, despite her age, is already an elite national champion, pulled on the gallons and won alone. Rafaela Ramalho (Irmãos Moreiras/ACDRREBORBTT) gave up 5m37s.

João Cruz (Axpo/FirstBike Team/Vila do Conde) won the duel in juniors. He was accompanied on the podium by Tomás Sacramento (Bairrada), who spent another 54 seconds, and by João Silva (Guilhabreu BTT), who was 1m27s.

The best in the race that brought together sub-23s and female juniors was a cyclist who, in 2020, competed, until now, as a cadet. Mariana Líbano (Guilhabreu BTT) was isolated to win with 2m33s of advantage over Marta Branco (Axpo/FirstBike Team/Vila do Conde) and with 11m12s of margin over Catarina Lopes (Axpo/FirstBike Team/Vila do Conde).

Tomás Gaspar (Penafiel Bike Clube) took the lead in the exciting cadet race, with the most direct rivals cutting the finish shortly after. Lucas Ferreira (Sabor do Norte/BilaBiker’s Racing Team) was 9 seconds away and Rafael Sousa (Póvoa de Varzim/CDC Navais) needed 17 seconds more than the winner to close the podium. Bruna Moreira (Penafiel Bike Clube) was the only female cadet on the track.

The veteran competitions were won by master 30 Rubén Cajide (Ourense Termal CC), by master 40 Israel Castañeda (Taymory-Rodley Team CX), by master 50 António Passos (Rompe Trilhos/Ajpcar) and by master 60 Joaquim Pinto (Silva & Vineyard/ADRAP/Sentir Penafiel).

Follow us on social media: Instagram; Facebook; Twitter.

Show More

Related Articles

Deixe uma resposta

O seu endereço de email não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios marcados com *

Back to top button
error: Content is protected !!